Asset Management

The Board of Trustees is responsible for managing the Fund’s assets. In particular, it defines the investment principles and objectives of wealth management, the execution of the investment process and its monitoring. It decided to delegate the implementation of the investment strategy to the Investment Committee.

The investment strategy is defined in the form of a strategic asset allocation. This refers to the optimal distribution of Fund assets among various asset classes that seeks, over the long-term, to cover its commitments at an acceptable level of risk. This strategic asset allocation respects the principle of an appropriate allocation of risks by being well diversified between asset classes, economic sectors and geographical regions. It is validated following an “Asset Liability Management” (ALM) study.

In addition, the Fund undertakes to add, to the extent possible but in a formal manner, environmental social and corporate governance (“ESG”) criteria to the return, risk and cost parameters when formulating its investment strategy and managing its assets.

The strategic asset allocation is implemented through the monthly rebalancing process. It consists of measuring the allocation gaps between the investments and the strategy in order to decide on the transactions to be carried out (purchases or sales) to minimize these gaps while ensuring liquidity needs and controlling costs.

In general, the Fund assets are invested in pooled funds managed by professional wealth management firms.

 

Asset allocation

The Fund’s assets were allocated as follows :

Allocation in %
31.12.2018
31.12.2017
Strategic
allocation
Liquidities and short-term investments 2.0 3.4 3.0
Equities 32.6 36.3 33.0
Private Equities 5.7 6.1 7.0
Bonds 36.5 33.4 35.0
Real estate Switzerland 16.3 14.4 15.0
Real estate International 6.5 6.1 7.0
Hedge funds 0.3 0.3 0.0
Total 100.0 100.0 100.0

Performances

Performances in % 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
Fund -4.0% 9.1% 5.9% -1.8% 7.2%
Fund’s investements strategy -3.3% 9.5% 6.2% -1.9% 8.8%

Vermögensverwaltung

Der Stiftungsrat ist verantwortlich für die Vermögensverwaltung. Insbesondere definiert er die Grundsätze und Ziele der Vermögensverwaltung, die Umsetzung des Anlageprozesses sowie deren Überwachung. Er hat entschlossen die Zuständigkeit für die Implementierung dieser Strategie an die Anlagekommission zu delegieren.

Die Strategie für die Vermögensanlagen wird in Form einer strategischen Allokation definiert. Dabei handelt es sich um die optimale Verteilung des Vermögens des Fonds auf verschiedenen Anlageklassen, womit im Rahmen der Risikofähigkeit des Fonds die Vorsorgeverpflichtungen langfristig gedeckt werden. Insbesondere muss die strategische Allokation dem Grundsatz einer angemessenen Diversifikation der Risiken entsprechen, indem sie auf mehrere Anlagekategorien sowie wirtschaftliche und geographische Sektoren verteilt ist. Die strategische Allokation wird mittels einer Kongruenz-Analyse zwischen Aktiven und Passiven (ALM Studie) überprüft.

Zusätzlich verpflichtet sich der Fonds formell, bei der Ausarbeitung seiner Anlagestrategie und der Verwaltung seiner Vermögenswerte so weit wie möglich nicht nur die Parameter Rendite, Risiko und Kosten, sondern auch Kriterien der Bereiche Umwelt, Soziales und Governance («ESG» Kriterien) zu berücksichtigen.

Des Weiteren wird die strategische Allokation mittels eines monatlichen Rebalancing Prozesses umgesetzt. Die Abweichungen zwischen der effektiven Asset-Allokation und der strategischen Allokation werden gemessen, sodass die notwendigen Transaktionen zur Minimierung dieser Abweichungen bestimmt werden können. Anschliessend werden Käufe und Verkäufe durchgeführt, sodass die Liquiditätsbedürfnisse des Fonds, unter Berücksichtigung der Kosten, gewährleistet werden.

Die Vermögensverwaltung wird via Mandate an professionelle Vermögensverwaltungsfirmen delegiert, im allgemeinen investiert der Fonds in Kollektivanlagen.

Asset-Allokation

Die Aufteilung des Fondsvermögens :

Aufteilung in %
31.12.2018
31.12.2017
Anlage-
strategie
Liquidität und kurzfristige Anlagen 2.0 3.4 3.0
Aktien 32.6 36.3 33.0
Private Beteiligungen (Private Equities) 5.7 6.1 7.0
Obligationen 36.5 33.4 35.0
Immobilien Schweiz 16.3 14.4 15.0
Immobilien International 6.5 6.1 7.0
Hedge Funds 0.3 0.3 0.0
Total 100.0 100.0 100.0

Performance

Performance in % 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
Fonds -4.0% 9.1% 5.9% -1.8% 7.2%
Anlagestrategie -3.3% 9.5% 6.2% -1.9% 8.8%