Nestlé pension benefits

The Fonds de Pensions Nestlé is a foundation that serves to provide benefits to its members and their survivors in the event of retirement, disability and death. The foundation is based in Vevey, Switzerland.

Its insured members comprise the employees of the Nestlé companies in Switzerland. Its membership consists of round 8’900 active insured members and over 5’900 pension beneficiaries. Its total assets amount to CHF 7.8 billion.

The Fonds de Pensions Nestlé is a fund financed by both the active insured members and their employers which are represented in the board of trustees. The benefits exceed the minimum benefits prescribed by the LOB (Federal law on occupational retirement, survivors and disability benefits).

The Fonds de Pensions Nestlé independently covers retirement, death and disability risks.

Since mid-2013, the Nestlé occupational pension scheme has been organised according to the defined contribution principle.

The administration team consists of 16 staff members.

 

Key figures

31.12.2019
31.12.2018
Funding ratio
114.4%
105.8%
Total of available assets
CHF 7’675.5 mio
CHF 6’942.2 mio
Liabilities
CHF 6’712.0 mio
CHF 6’559.2 mio
  – Pension reserve for pensioners
CHF 4’011.8 mio
CHF 3’971.8 mio
  – Pension reserve for active members
CHF 2’436.6 mio
CHF 2’522.3 mio
  – Technical provisions
CHF 263.6 mio
CHF 65.1 mio
Downward risk provision
CHF 963.5 mio
CHF 383.0 mio
Investments performance
14.0%
-4.0%
Assets allocation
  – Cash
0.9 %
2.0%
  – Equities
29.3%
32.6%
  – Bonds
41.5%
36.5%
  – Real estate
23.2%
22.8%
  – Alternative investments
5.1%
6.0%
Interest payments on retirement savings capital
2.75%
1.0%
Technical interest rate
2.25%
2.25%
Mortality tabes
LPP 2015
LPP 2015
Total headcount
14’734
15’758
  – Active members
8’847
9’967
  – Pensioners
5’887
5’791

 

Evolution funding ratio

 

 

History

In the light of increasing life expectancy and the instability in the financial markets the Fonds de Pensions Nestlé is comitted to provide attractive pension benefits for its employees. The development of the Fund is closely involved with the business itself since its very foundation.

Chronology

2018
Modification of technical interest rate as well as biometrical basis and in consequence lowering of conversion rates.
2016
Creation and launch of the fund's website. The administration team consists of around 15 staff members on behalf of over 11'500 active members and 5'500 pensioniers of the Fund.
2015
Modernisation of the distribution of pension statements and other documents via online access on a personal and secured intranet page.
2013
In July, change of pension scheme in a definied contribution system. This new saving plan is for all new employees and those insured members born after 1st January 1959. The level of retirement, death and disability benefits is equivalent to the old pension scheme.  
2011
Change of biometrical basis and in consequence lowering of conversion rates.
2008
60 years of Fonds de Pensions Nestlé.
2007
The pension liabilites of the “Fonds de Pensions Complémentaire Nestlé” were taken over by the Fonds de Pensions Nestlé.
2003
Adaptation vesting scale over 40 years of membership
2000
Change of name: the two Fonds de Pensions Nestlé I and II were aggregated under the name “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé”. The “Fonds de Prévoyance (Fondation Louis Dapples)” became the “Fonds de Pensions Complémentaire Nestlé”.
1995
Introduction of the  Federal Law on vested benefits and encouragement of homeownership
1985
40 years after the creation of The Fonds de Pensions Nestlé, the LOB (Law on occupational pension schemes benefits) becames mandatory. Electronic data processing was introduced  and the “PEPE” program was used to manage the pension fund.
1981
Raise of retirement age for women at age 62
1975
Modification of the retirement pension objective
1972
As a result of restructuring, the two institutions were brought together as the "Fonds de pensions Nestlé", while the former name "Fondation Edouard Muller" also remained current in remember of CEO Edouard Muller. The pension funds for the Nestlé  manual and clerical workers were merged with the  MAGGI pension fund under the new name “Fonds  de Pensions Nestlé I”. The “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé II” becomes now a real estate fund.
1960
The Tschumi building (Bergère A)  was opened and became the head office for the pension fund. Federal disability insurance (DI) was introduced.
1948
Nestlé reorganized the pension fund system for its staff. Two foundations were created which to this day provide the basis for the jointly-administered Nestlé pension funds in Switzerland: the “Fonds de Pensions Suisse des Employés Nestlé” and the “Fonds de Pensions Suisse des Ouvriers Nestlé”, for clerical and manual workers respectively. In memory of the Chairman of the Board of Directors who had died that year, both of the new funds were also called “Fondation Edouard Muller”. Old-age and Survivors’ Insurance (OASI) was introduced.
1919
The “Compte de Retraites” (pensions account) was converted into a Foundation named “Fonds pour institutions en faveur du personnel de la Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss Cond. Milk Co. Cham & Vevey” (Fund for institutions in favour of the staff of Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss Cond. Milk Co. Cham & Vevey). This foundation paid the pensions of retired Nestlé staff (in 1921, 115 former manual and clerical workers). From its reserves, Nestlé transferred CHF 2.5 Mio into the foundation’s account.
1911
The Swiss federal law on sickness and accident insurance came into force, followed in 1918 by the formation of the national accident insurance fund (CNA/SUVA). Nestlé had been paying premiums for its staff into a manual workers sickness insurance fund since 1875, and paying insurance benefits from 1880 onwards.
1910
A pension fund was created for clerical and manual workers of the two merged companies, along with a retirement savings account specific to each organization.

Vorsorge bei Nestlé

Der Fonds de Pensions Nestlé ist eine Vorsorgestiftung, die das Ziel verfolgt, für ihre Mitglieder oder deren Hinterlassene im Alter, bei Invalidität oder im Todesfall Leistungen zu erbringen. Sitz der Stiftung ist Vevey (Schweiz).

Zum Kreis der Versicherten zählen die Mitarbeitenden von Nestlé in der Schweiz. Der Mitgliederbestand umfasst um die 8’900 aktive Versicherte und mehr als 5’900 Rentenbezüger. Die Bilanzsumme beläuft sich auf rund CHF 7.8 Milliarden.

Der Fonds de Pensions Nestlé ist ein paritätischer Fonds, der durch die aktiven Versicherten und ihre Arbeitgeber finanziert wird. Er ist im Register für berufliche Vorsorge eingetragen. Die gewährten Leistungen sind umhüllend, das heisst sie übertreffen die vom BVG (Bundesgesetz über die berufliche Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenvorsorge) vorgeschriebenen Mindestleistungen.

Der Fonds de Pensions Nestlé trägt selbständig die Deckung der Risiken Alter, Tod und Invalidität.

Seit Mitte 2013 ist die berufliche Vorsorge bei Nestlé gemäss dem Grundsatz des Beitragsprimats organisiert.

Das Verwaltungsteam besteht aus 16 Mitarbeitenden.

 

Kennzahlen

31.12.2019
31.12.2018
Deckungsgrad
114.4%
105.8%
Total verfügbares Vermögen
CHF 7’675.5 mio
CHF 6’942.2 mio
Verpflichtungen
CHF 6’712.0 mio
CHF 6’559.2 mio
  – Vorsorgekapital für Rentner
CHF 4’011.8 mio
CHF 3’971.8 mio
  – Vorsorgekapital für aktive Versicherte
CHF 2’436.6 mio
CHF 2’522.3 mio
  – Technische Rückstellungen
CHF 263.6 mio
CHF 65.1 mio
Wertschwankungsreserven
CHF 963.5 mio
CHF 383.0 mio
Performance der Anlagen
14.0%
-4.0%
Asset-Allokation
  – Liquidität und kurzfristige Anlagen
0.9 %
2.0%
  – Aktien
29.3%
32.6%
  – Obligationen
41.5%
36.5%
  – Immobilien
23.2%
22.8%
  – Alternative Anlagen
5.1%
6.0%
Verzinsung der Alterssparguthaben
2.75%
1.0%
Technischer Zinssatz
2.25%
2.25%
Technische Grundlagen
BVG 2015
BVG 2015
Anzahl Versicherte
14’734
15’758
  – aktive Versicherte
8’847
9’967
  – Rentner
5’887
5’791

 

Entwicklung des Deckungsgrad

 

 

Geschichte

Der Fonds de Pensions Nestlé bietet den Mitarbeitern der Firma Nestlé eine Vorsorge, die den höchsten Ansprüchen entspricht und dies trotz den wichtigen Herausforderungen wie die Erhöhung der Lebenserwartung sowie der schwierigen Situation auf den Finanzmärkten. Die Entwicklung des Fonds folgt der Entwicklung des Gründerunternehmens Nestlé, unter anderem durch Fusionen und Erwerb von neuen Firmen.

Chronologie

2018
Änderung des technischen Zinssatzes sowie der technischen Grundlagen und in Folge Senkung der Umwandlungssätze.
2016
Erstellung und Start der Internetseite. Die Verwaltung zählt 15 Mitarbeiter die 11'500 aktiven Versicherten und 5'500 Rentner zur Verfügung stehen.
2015
Modernisierung des Versands der Vorsorgeausweise und weiteren Dokumente an die aktiven Versicherten, dank einem direkten Zugriff auf eine sichere und persönliche Intranet-Seite
2013
Per 1. Juli Einführung des neuen Vorsorgeplans im Beitragsprimat. Dieser neuer Sparplan für die neuen und die Versicherten die nach dem 1. Januar 1959 geboren sind, gewährt ähnliche Leistungen wie im alten Leistungsprimats-Plan.
2011
Änderung der technischen Grundlagen und in Folge Senkung der Umwandlungssätze.
2008
Der Fonds feiert sein 60-jähriges Bestehen.
2007
Die Verpflichtungen des “Fonds de Pensions Complémentaire Nestlé” gegenüber den Rentnern wird vom “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé” übernommen.
2003
Änderung der Anzahl Mitgliedschaftsjahre des Leistungsziel auf 40 Jahre
2000
Namensänderung: Zusammenschliessung der zwei Stiftungen Fonds de Pensions Nestlé I und II unter dem Namen  “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé”. Der “Fonds de Prévoyance (Fondation Louis Dapples)” heisst neu “Fonds de Pensions Complémentaire Nestlé”.
1995
Einführung des Bundesgesetz über die Freizügigkeit in der beruflichen Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenvorsorge sowie der Wohneigentumsförderung
1985
Das neue Bundesgesetz über die berufliche Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenvorsorge (BVG) tritt in Kraft. Einführung der elektronischen Datenverarbeitung und des Programms “PEPE” bei der Pensionskassenverwaltung.
1981
Erhöhung des Rentenalters für Frauen auf 62 Jahre
1975
Änderung des Leistungsziels der Alterspension
1972
Zusammenlegung der beiden Pensionsfonds für die Arbeiter und jene für die Angestellen von Nestlé sowie der Pensionskasse von MAGGI unter dem neuen Namen “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé I”. Der “Fonds de Pensions Nestlé II” verwandelt sich in einen Immobilienfonds.
1960
Einweihung des Tschumi-Gebäudes (Bergère A), in dem die Verwaltung des Fonds de Pensions untergebracht wird. Einführung der eidgenössischen Invalidenversicherung.
1948
Nestlé organisiert das Pensionskassensystem für das Personal neu. Sie gründet zwei Stiftungen, die noch heute die Basis des paritätischen Pensionsfonds von Nestlé in der Schweiz bilden: den “Fonds de Pensions Suisse des Employés Nestlé” und den “Fonds de Pensions Suisse des Ouvriers Nestlé”. Im Andenken an den eben im Amt verstorbenen Verwaltungsratspräsidenten erhalten die beiden neuen Fonds die Ehrenbezeichnung “Fondation Edouard Muller”. Einführung der AHV.
1919
Das Ruhestandkonto wird in eine Stiftung mit dem Namen “Einrichtung zu Gunsten des Personals der Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss Condensed Milk Co. Cham & Vevey” umgewandelt. Diese Stiftung zahlt die Pensionen des pensionierten Nestlé-Personals (1921 sind es 115 ehemalige Arbeiter und Angestellte). Nestlé überweist aus seinen Reserven CHF 2,5 Mio an die Stiftung.
1911
wird in der Schweiz das Bundesgesetz über Kranken- und Unfallversicherung erlassen und 1918 die Schweizerische Unfallversicherungsanstalt gegründet. Nestlé zahlte für ihre Mitarbeiter bereits im Jahr 1875 Prämien an eine Arbeiterkrankenkasse und 1880 für Versicherungsleistungen.
1910
wird eine Pensionskasse für ”Arbeiter und Angestellte” der beiden fusionierten Unternehmen geschaffen mit je einem Vorsorge- und einem Ruhestandskonto.